Managed to get a last minute dentist appointment after 3 days of tooth ache only too have nothing done. 

I’m sure it’s his fault.  What with all the moving around in recent years I’d not been for a while until K kept giving me a hard time, saying she wouldn’t love me if my teeth fell out (so superficial!).  Anyway, saw him a few months back and I’m all fine, still no fillings and healthy teeth.  The sensitive one I have has been stable for years and doesn’t really bug me.  He gives me advice, I go away.  And since then the pain in my sensitive tooth has got worse and worse.  Methinks bad advice to drum up business…maybe too cynical?  Anyway, sensitive toothpaste for me from now on (apparently he’s been on it since his early twenties – he tells me lots about his own teeth) and a ‘scrape and polish’ in a month.  Such a lovely phrase. 

……………………………………………………..

Lola (our new secret cat) has settled down the weird behaviour somewhat.  When I first got home she was going mental, banging her head into anything around, quite manic, jumping and generally being strange.  Then she relaxed and even curled up on my lap while I was reading.  She likes having her head scratched, just like me.

Then when we were sitting quietly she suddenly went for me, bit me, sunk her claws in and generally looked quite frightening.  Then she sat right back down next to me.  About 20 minutes later she did it again.  Now I think she’s schizophrenic.  Or maybe bipolar…  I’m going to hold judgement on whether we’re still friends.

Speaking of schizophrenic cats, it reminds me of someone we learnt about during my psychiatry rotation.  Louis Wain was a painter famous for pictures featuring anthropomorphised cats. 

He then developed late onset schizophrenia and his paintings changed, developing a deep focus on the cats specifically creating increasngly abstract images as his illness progressed.

He eventually ended up at Springfield in Tooting which is where I learnt my psychiatry.  Check the links out for more information.

This shows the apparent progression,  more of his paintings and as part of a larger thesis.

